Failover is extremely straightforward. Simply log in to the DRaaS dashboard, go to the details page for the VS and click on the Failover button just below the map. Failover triggers the following tasks:
- If the original VS is still active (which it may be if the failure was local to the VS or if you are testing) then the VS is disabled and replication is stopped.
- The new VS is then started on the provider cloud using the exact data that was on the original VS. This process should be quite quick but may take a couple of minutes.
Once the new VS is active it will show up on the dashboard with a green tick on the provider side of the page.
You can now log into this VS using your existing credentials but using the new IP address listed on the Dashboard VS details page. If you have any externally accessible services you will need to issue a DNS update to direct them to the new IP address. Please note that during failover your VS is no longer being replicated.